Which country is not a member of Mekong Ganga Cooperation?

The Mekong-Ganga Cooperation (MGC) is an initiative by six countries – India and five ASEAN countries, namely, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam. Afghanistan is not a member of this initiative.

Is China part of Mekong-Ganga Cooperation?

Ans. India, Cambodia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Thailand, and Vietnam are the six-member countries of the Mekong-Ganga Cooperation.

What countries does the Mekong River flow through?

The Mekong River is one of the world’s great rivers. Covering a distance of nearly 5,000 km from its source on the Tibetan Plateau in China to the Mekong Delta, the river flows through six countries: China, Myanmar, Thailand, Lao PDR, Cambodia and Viet Nam.

Where is the river Mekong?

The Mekong River is the longest river in Southeast Asia. The river has a length of approximately 4,900 km, flowing from its source on the Tibetan Plateau in China through Myanmar, Lao PDR, Thailand, Cambodia and Viet Nam via a large delta into the sea.

How many countries are there in Mekong-Ganga?

It comprises six member countries, namely India (Look-East connectivity projects), Thailand, Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam. The four areas of cooperation are tourism, culture, education, and transportation.

IT IS SURPRISING:  What time is Hanoi train street?

Is the Mekong River saltwater or freshwater?

Species. The Mekong giant catfish can weigh up to 770 pounds and is the third largest freshwater fish on the planet. The Greater Mekong has no fewer than 20,000 species of plants, 1,200 bird species, 800 species of reptiles and amphibians, and 430 mammal species. Over 1300 new species have been catalogued since 1997.

Which country controls the headwaters of the Mekong River?

China’s Control of the Mekong. Whether through its own dams or the financing and construction of dams in other countries, China is largely in the driver’s seat when it comes to the Mekong. In this March 22, 2016 photo, a Cambodian fisherman anchors their wooden boats on Mekong River bank near Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

Where is Laos country?

Laos, landlocked country of northeast-central mainland Southeast Asia. It consists of an irregularly round portion in the north that narrows into a peninsula-like region stretching to the southeast. Overall, the country extends about 650 miles (1,050 km) from northwest to southeast.

Which countries are in the lower Mekong basin?

The five Lower Mekong countries include: Burma, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, and Vietnam. The Lower Mekong Initiative (LMI) is a multinational partnership effort initiated by the United States in 2009 to promote greater cooperation in the Mekong sub-region.

Is Cambodia a country?

Cambodia, country on the Indochinese mainland of Southeast Asia. Cambodia is largely a land of plains and great rivers and lies amid important overland and river trade routes linking China to India and Southeast Asia.

How many rivers are in Cambodia?

The remaining ten percent is derived from the nine rivers that drain the waters of greater Cambodia into the Tonle Sap Great Lake.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Which among the following are not full member countries of Asean?

Which river can be found in Pakistan?

The longest and the largest river in Pakistan is the Indus River. Around two-thirds of water supplied for irrigation and in homes come from the Indus and its associated rivers.